Baby wearing … who new that was a thing!?

Well apparently lots of people!!

I didn’t discover baby wearing until Samuel was about 12 weeks old, I didn’t know much about it so I started with a generic baby borjn style carrier.

I loved carrying Samuel and it was great for beach walks, putting the washing on the line or if you needed to pop into a shop and didn’t want to lug a heavy car seat about!

After I’d been using the carrier for a few weeks Samuel started to get to heavy for it and it was really hurting my shoulders. I was really upset because I loved having him close to me,and it was so easy for food shopping when he was too small to sit in the trolley. Because there’s never enough of the trolleys that you can put the car seat on, and lets face it they are really difficult to steer when your on your tip toes trying to see over the car seat.

So in my despair I took to the internet typing different phrases into google ‘baby carriers for heavy babies’,  then I stumbled onto a baby wearing Facebook group and I discovered I was just using the wrong type of carrier. After lots of research and reading other people experiences and opinions I brought a Tula (I’d decided to go for a buckle carrier as I didn’t trust my wrapping abilities).

The carrier holds baby in a completely different position to most high street carrier you see. With most high street carriers, baby legs are dangling straight down. I now realise this isn’t a great position for babies to be carried in. Don’t panic though if you have one of these carriers because they can be adjusted with a simple scarf or piece of material to seat baby in a ‘M’ position (when facing towards you).

 

Pic from amazon.co.uk

With a Tula/connector/rose and rebellion and many other ergonomic carriers the baby sits in an M position.

 

2016-06-19 16.55.11

 

This position seems a bit strange to begin with, but once you get used to it you realise its a lot more comfy for you and your baby.

Both me and my husband can comfortable ‘wear’ Samuel now and he is 27lb!, we can even wear him on our back! This is great if its a bit windy, because he is sheltered behind you and all cuddled up close.

032.JPG

I love this photo!!

As much as baby wearing is great be warned you will end up walking with a ‘baby wearing waddle!’ or that’s what i like to call it. It almost looks like a child taking there first steps, because you are so cautious as to where your putting your feet so you don’t fall over with this precious baby in your arms. But don’t worry you’ll get used to it!

With baby number two I will be purchasing a stretchy wrap so I can wear them from a newborn. (not that i’m pregnant yet but i like a plan !)

With baby wearing you have to be careful not to overdress your baby, because they are cuddled up against you they get warm very quickly. Its suggested that you opt for lots of thin layers rather than one thick layer e.g not a snowsuit!

You can get lots of advice from:

  • Your local sling library, you can even try lots of different carrier styles on, and you can rent your favorite.
  • Your local baby wearing Facebook group, this is the Norfolk one: Norfolk baby wearing group UK   I found this very helpful.
  • This group Slings and Things- FSOT was also very helpful and there are so many mummy’s on here with amazing knowledge on a huge variety of carriers, but be careful you will get hooked and want to buy them all!!!!

Spread the word because it really is great and its lovely for you and baby and its never to late to start.

One thought on “Baby wearing … who new that was a thing!?

Leave a Reply

