Getting out of a slump

So recently I've been in a bit of a ' I feel lonely, fat, sicky and sorry for myself' slump. It was due to a combination of things including: pregnancy hormones, cancelled play dates due to the dreaded winter tummy bug, hubby being away for work, family being very busy, and just me not feeling like going out and making an effort to see people. You know the usual!!

So this morning I thought right come on Jessica get yourself out of your pyjamas and go to that baby group you’ve been meaning to go to for weeks! It’s in the village I live, I can walk there and it’s free, so I had no excuse!
9:10am came and I got Samuel in the pushchair, bag packed and we left the house. I was so nervous walking down, and when I finally got there I was sweating and ready to run in the opposite direction! ( in a nervous sweater!!)
First mistake: I went in the wrong door! But I was met by a lovely man who showed me through to the baby group, he showed me where the tea and coffee was and another lady offered me a warm crossiant !!!
It’s always a bit awkward when you walk into a room where you don’t know anyone. For the first half an hour me and Samuel just played with the toys and I sat and drank my coffee, while all the other mummy’s who knew each other talked in their groups. But after a while people broke off from their groups and I started to talk to some other mummy’s and I met a lady who had a little boy the same age as Samuel and another on the way due in March, just like me!
There was also a music session at the end that Samuel loved.

We both had a lovely time, and when I got home I had renewed energy!
So the moral of the story is … if your feeling a bit down or lonely, get yourself out there and meet new people! I no it’s easier said then done but try. You’ll feel much better for it!
There’s a great group on Facebook if your local to Norfolk called get me out of the four walls Norfolk. They organise events and meet ups all around Norfolk, I haven’t managed to get to any yet but I’m keeping an eye out.

JakiJellz
11 thoughts on “Getting out of a slump

  1. I really felt this when I was on maternity leave. I was going crazy staying indoors but had no energy or motivation to go out as Ben was taking all of my energy. Now I am back at work i feel like even though I am doing so much more, I’m actually feeling so much more energised!
    Thank you for linking up to #TriumphantTales, I hope to see you back next week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true. Getting out, getting a bit of fresh air and sunshine, and meeting new people always helps in getting out of that routine/ slump. Good you’ll had a nice day!
    #TriumphantTales

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s so great that you found a group and got out! It is hard to go somewhere we don’t know anyone, but I’ve found it does make it a little easier when it’s (sort of) for someone else. Hope you have continued to go and built some friendships along the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How lovely to find a local mummy blog! I will be following you from now on 🙂 Glad to hear that you got out and enjoyed it! We have all been the “new” mum at a baby group, it is hard but so worth it! I am actually organising a Christmas family fun day event on Saturday 19th November in Norwich in aid of Get Me Out The Four Walls if you are free and fancy coming along! We are all a friendly bunch, but if you wanted to come along with your hubby so you don’t feel alone you would all be very welcome! but no worries if not! Hopefully I will meet you at a meet soon 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

