Our first Christmas at home 

We were adamant we wanted Christmas at home this year and invited my family over for lunch. This was met with some resistance, because who really likes change?, but I got my way in the end and ordered the turkey!
I don’t know why we didn’t do it before, I mean I get to do everything I love the most: plan, make lists, and stay in my lovely cosy home!! 
I was quite nervous about cooking my first Christmas dinner but lucky our friend is a chef so he gave me loads of tips. The best tip of all was ‘cook the turkey Christmas eve’ this was the best thing we could have done, it meant we didn’t have to get up really early to put the turkey in, and we didn’t have to keep nipping out to check the turkey. My husband decided that he had a sudden interest in cooking and like a real man took control of the turkey! Lifting it out of the oven for his weak and feeble wife and basting every hour! We prepared and par-boiled all the veg too. 
Christmas morning was lovely Samuel’s face when he came down and saw all the presents under the tree was one of confusion and excitement. It took ages to open his presents because he was playing with each and everyone of them after opening which made me shed a little tear. He was so pleased with all his toys.  

(Samuel playing with his tea set)

My mum and sister arrived for dinner and after a few pressie’s Samuel went in his cot for a 2 hour nap which was amazing this meant we could get dinner cooked for when he woke up. 


(Our family Christmas dinner)

It was such a chilled out day, all the preparing the day before was worth it! I would definitely do it the same next year.

(Samuel and daddy playing)

We even got out for a walk in the evening to see the Christmas lights around town and to have some tea with my mother and father-in-law.

All in all a pretty perfect day 🙂 

One thought on “Our first Christmas at home 

Leave a Reply

